07/27/2013 11:18 PM -

JACKSONVILLE – Due to the Philadelphia Soul’s 42-28 loss to the San Antonio Talons, the 2013 South Division Champion Jacksonville Sharks will enter the 2013 postseason as the No. 1 seed in the American Conference, the team and Arena Football League announced Saturday.

Heading into Saturday’s action, the Sharks needed both a win against the Tampa Bay Storm and a Talon victory over Philadelphia. The Sharks took care of business with a 52-44 victory over the Storm while the Philadelphia game was still ongoing.

As the No. 1 seed, the Sharks will open the postseason against the No. 4 seed Tampa Bay Storm on Saturday, August 3, with kickoff set for 7:00 p.m. Should Jacksonville win that playoff game, the team would host the American Conference Championship Game against either the Soul or Orlando Predators at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, August 10.

Shark playoff tickets are now on sale, and may be purchased by calling the Sharks Ticket Office at (904) 621-0700, visiting the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena box office, or by visiting

About the Jacksonville Sharks

The Jacksonville Sharks are members of the Arena Football League (AFL). The ArenaBowl XXIV and four-time South Division Champions are presented by Sea Best Seafood and play all home games on Sea Best Field at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena. Season Tickets for the 2014 season are now on sale, two tickets as low as $185. To reserve your season tickets, or for more information, please call (904) 621-0700. Follow the Sharks on facebook at and on Twitter @jaxsharks, as well as the Attack Dance Team at and Chum at

About the AFL

Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased its fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. CBS Sports Network will broadcast an AFL National Game of the Week on Saturday nights for the entire regular season and postseason through the semifinal round. The ArenaBowl XXVI Championship Game will air on the CBS Television Network on August 17, 2013.