08/19/2010 6:02 PM -

JACKSONVILLE, FLA - The Jacksonville Sharks and the Arena Football League announce the Sharks’ Les Moss is awarded 2010 Head Coach of the Year. Moss’s 21 years of coaching experience has given the team the guidance they needed for a successful season. Moss led the Sharks to a 12-4 regular season record - a league record for wins by an expansion team. Moss also led the Sharks to a postseason appearance after winning the South Division.

“I’m honored to have been given this award,” stated Moss. “There are lots of great coaches in this league that are just as deserving. It’s not an ArenaBowl Championship, but I’m still honored.”

Moss began his AFL coaching career in 1988 with the Chicago Bruisers. Two years later, Moss won his first championship with the Detroit Drive. Most of his career would be with the Orlando Predators, starting with their inaugural season in 1991.

The Predators made seven ArenaBowl appearances and won two championships under Moss (1991-2003, 2006-2008). In 2004, Moss spent two seasons as head coach for the af2 team Wilkes-Barre Scranton Pioneers, leading them to an ArenaCup appearance.

Moss’s teams have now played in the postseason for 19 consecutive seasons. His resume includes three ArenaBowl victories, 10 title games and 16 final four appearances. Les Moss becomes the second Moss to win the AFL’s Coach of the Year. Perry Moss, Les’s father, won the award three times (1988, 1992, 1994). Les Moss also won the af2 Coach of the year in 2004 with the Wilkes-Barre Scranton Pioneers.

The Jacksonville Sharks are members of the Arena Football League (AFL).  The reigning South Division Champions play all home games on Sea Best Field at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena.  The Sharks return to action in March of 2011 for a sophomore season. Season tickets for the 2011 season are now available. To reserve your season tickets, group tickets, or for more information please call (904) 621-0700.